May 20th, 2015

3 Standards for Effective Readers and Learners

Unlock imaginations and increase student achievement with the new literacy and library resources, now available on NYLearns.

Introducing the Empire State Information Fluency Continuum.

The Information Fluency Continuum framework is based on three standards essential for students to become effective readers and learners.

Standard 1: Using Inquiry to Build Understanding and Create New Knowledge

Standard 2: Pursuing Personal and Aesthetic Growth

Standard 3: Demonstrating Social Responsibility

These standards contain benchmark skills for grades 2, 5, 8, and 12. You can find them on NYLearns by visiting the Standards tab and selecting Information Fluency Continuum from the Subject Area dropdown. Then just choose your grade level and one of the three standards to view the corresponding benchmarks.

Library media specialists can also find the standards in the alignment tool, so they can align their curriculum maps to the Information Fluency Continuum.

Check out the new literacy and library resources to engage student inquiry and spark independent learning.

As always, if you have any questions you can send us a message on Facebook or Twitter using the hashtag #AskNYLearns

Leave a Reply